|RULE OF THE WEEK|
This week's rule of the week covers the 'contact' call which we are introducing as a WUL rule amendment for 2013. The discussion covers what the rule is, how to use it and how the defence should respond.
Click the read more button to see the whole story including previously published "Rules of the Week".
Rule of the Week
This year we have introduced a new WUL rule amendment, the contact call. Here is the rule as worded in our amendments:
Contact Call: If contact occurs between the thrower and marker that would constitute a foul under XVI.H.3.a (i.e. ‘Throwing Fouls’) but the thrower does not release the disc, "contact" may be called. Play does not stop and the marker resumes the stall count at "one". Other than resetting the stall count to "one" after the first instance, the "contact" call is treated as any other marking violation. The marker may contest the "contact" call by calling "violation", which stops play. If the thrower calls "contact" after beginning the throwing motion and subsequently releases the disc, it is treated as if the thrower called "foul".
A bit of background: the contact call has been used as an addendum to the 11th edition rules for the past year at high level events in the U.S.; it is also being added to the Canadian Ultimate Championships this year, and will be included outright in the 12th edition rules (likely to be introduced as early as next year). We are adding the rule as an amendment this year to get a jump on the changes – and because it offers an effective way to encourage legal marks and avoid fouls.
When can the contact call be made? As a thrower, you can call ‘contact’ any time you would normally call a foul – generally if bumped, hacked, etc. by the marker. You still have the option to call ‘foul’ instead, though ‘contact’ may be the preferred call especially if you do not want to stop play.
What happens when it is called? The marker drops the count to one and resumes from there. Essentially, this means the count restarts when contact is called. The marker does not need to restart with ‘stalling’ however.
Marker: “Stalling one… two… three… four…” (bumps the thrower)
Marker: “One… two… three…”
Why would the thrower call ‘contact’ instead of ‘foul’? And vice versa? Oftentimes it is disadvantageous to the offence to call a foul and stop play, especially early in the count. The thrower may recognize that another cut is going to be open a few seconds later, or may simply not wish to have a stoppage which means restarting from stationary positions, or which allows the defence to rest a few seconds and possibly get a better read on what the offence is doing. The contact call was conceived to allow the offence to make a call to their advantage in that case, and get a fresh stall count, while allowing them to play on and not negate any opportunities to advance the disc.
Conversely, the thrower may wish to call a foul and stop play in situations where they do not have options open right away or if the offence needs to regroup. When playing with many newer players, it may be advisable to call foul as it gives a chance to stop play and explain what happened, especially if a player is still learning legal marking technique.
What if the disc is thrown after the call? This depends on whether the contact occurred during the act of throwing or before.
If the contact call is made for contact that occurs during the act of throwing – i.e. “the motion that transfers momentum from the thrower to the disc in the direction of flight and results in a throw”, which does not include the pivot or wind-up – then it is treated just like ‘foul’ was called. If the throw is complete, play does not stop, players should call ‘play on’. If incomplete, it is returned to the thrower. [See also the Visual Rules re: throwing fouls (page 3 of the link), for how to resolve the call and resume the stall count - in this scenario you can substitute "contact" for "foul".]
If on the other hand the call is made before the act of throwing, the continuation rule does not apply. So play will continue regardless of the outcome of a throw. Calling ‘contact’ and then starting a throw does not mean the disc will come back if the pass is incomplete.
What if a marker disagrees with the call? Usually the contact call should be straightforward – most (non-incidental) contact between a marker and thrower would normally constitute a foul by the marker, so would warrant either a foul or contact call. In a limited number of cases the marker may have case to disagree – for example when they are marking legally (i.e. respecting the rules on disc space – see rule XIV.B.3), and the thrower pivots into them. In these cases the marker may immediately call ‘violation’ in response to the contact call. Calling violation stops play and allows for (brief) discussion as to why they disagree. Unless either player then drops the contact or violation call, play will then generally be resolved as a contested violation call – the disc needs to be checked back in by the defence, and the count will resume at the last number reached prior to the call plus one, or 6 if over 5. Note this is the standard way any marking violation (see also fast count, disc space, double team, vision blocking) can be contested.
What if the contact call is ignored or not resolved properly by the marker? If the marker does not drop the count back to one when contact is called, they have the option to either call ‘violation’ and stop play or to call ‘fast count’ (which means the stall count must drop to one less than the number last counted). Generally ‘violation’ is likely to be the more advisable call. If they fail to properly react to the contact call, it is likely they do not know the rule (and may not know how to resolve a fast count call either); the stoppage allows time to explain the call and the reason for it. Following a violation call the count will resume with a check by the defence; the count (if uncontested) will start over at one. If contested, it is again treated as a contested violation call (see previous question for resolution).
Here is a look at the rules we reviewed in the past.
You can find all previous rule highlights through the "rules section" link below.
These rules have a bit more detail then what you'll find in the rule book and hopefully will address some of the misconceptions about them. In addition to "new" rules of the week pages we will also highlight previously released items. All the info will be updated to be in line with the 11th edition rules. If you would like to see a specific rule or situation covered please email MODS Rules of the Week.
STALL COUNT REACHED
WHAT IS A TRAVEL
WHERE OUT OF BOUNDS DISC COMES INTO PLAY
A CALL IS MADE
STOPPING A ROLLING OR SLIDING DISC
INCIDENTAL CONTACT VS ACCIDENTAL CONTACT
2012 WUL RULE AMENDMENTS
TRACKING SCORES AND TIME
MODS rules section on the site
|< Prev||Next >|