Every year Manitoba Organization of Disc Sports (MODS) recognizes the achievements and contributions of local athletes, coaches, volunteers, and key members of our community.

Lifetime Member Award

Presented each year at the MODS annual general meeting, this award recognizes a person, group, or team that has gone out of their way to make MODS a better organization or to help us improve our disc community. This award symbolizes the true spirit of ultimate and is the most prestegious honour MODS can give a current or past member. Upon receiving the award, the recipient is granted free lifetime membership to MODS and thanks for their service and committment.

Lifetime Member Recipients

  • Jean-Luc Forest (1997)
  • Mike Jones (1997)
  • Bill Burgess (1997)
  • Edith MacDonald (1997)
  • Curtis Lebleu (1998)
  • Brenda Koch
  • Casey Dixon
  • Jay Rousseau
  • Danny Waldman
  • Moni Fricke
  • Dean Wright
  • Randall Swartz (2006)
  • Steve Raizen (2006)
  • Campbell McDonald (2007)
  • Nat Kosteckyj (2007)
  • Ken Chin (2008)
  • Kyle Parker (2009)
  • Bernice Bowley (2009)
  • Trevor Horvath (2010)
  • Jessica Benoit (2010)
  • Danny Saunders (2011)
  • Jennifer Stark (2011)
  • Crys Zimmer (2012)
  • Steve Heyns (2012)
  • Dwayne McFaddin (2013)
  • Eric Reder (2013)
  • Scott "Big Daddy" Schinkel (2013)
  • Pierre Forest (2013)
  • Simon Cotton (2014)
  • Jeff Yuen (2014)
  • Brad Swartz (2015)
  • Grant Shaw (2015)
  • Carol Shaw (2015)
  • Michelle Johnson (2017)
  • Angela Hilland (2018)
  • Adam Knibbs (2018)

2019 Lifetime Member 

Erin McKinlay - For her outstanding work with women's and junior development and continued work with coaching and leadership at large, Erin has been recognized for many years of service to the Ultimate community. This is a small token to such an important member of our organization who leads on and off the field and encompasses Spirit of the Game as a player, coach and ambassador. Our community thanks Erin for everything she has done to help grow Ultimate in Manitoba.

2019 Lifetime Member

Yacine Bara - For his years of service to our board of directors, committees, his leadership as president and treasurer as well as his committment to leading by example on the field and through team play, we celebrate Yacine for all he has done for the community, organization and Spirit of the Game.

Volunteer of the Year

This award goes to someone who, over the course of the year, put in countless hours of service to help MODS events run smoothly. This is usually someone the organization couldn't have done without during peak times and at key events. They are awarded with their name permanently engraved on the MODS Volunteer of the Year trophy and they also recieve a gift from MODS. The award is presented each year at the MODS annual gerenal meeting.

2019/20 Volunteer of the Year: Carmen Lee

Carmen has taken on so much to enrich MODS and our Ultimate community in the past few years, we couldn't go another year without publicly recognizing her efforts!

As a coach, Carmen has helped shape the future of the sport through our junior programs and specifically the young women of MODS. Having helped in clinics and development programs, Carmen is also the head coach at Gray Academy and has taken on the role of head coach for the Team Manitoba (Masters of Flying Objects) top women's team as well. In 2019 her time, commitment and efforts led Gray to a bronze medal at the Ultimate Canada High School national championships and she helped direct the MOFO women to a final’s appearance and silver medal at the Junior Canadian Ultimate Championships later that same summer.

As an athlete, Carmen has represented Manitoba as part of Fusion for many years on the touring circuit. Not only bringing home national championships in the adult women's division, but also multiple times spirit champion, exemplifying Spirit of the Game firsthand and by example.

In adult programming, Carmen is an essential link and part of the women's committee within MODS and also as a leader and organizer or outdoor and indoor women's leagues, helping to keep development opportunities in place for our touring and elite junior communities.

We want to congratulate Carmen on all the successes she has had on and off the field in the past year and even more than that say THANK YOU for all the time, support and energy you put into developing our sport and community.

Previous Volunteers of the Year:

  • 2018 Kelvin Dyck
  • 2018 Jen Stark
  • 2016 Jackie Martin & Boomer
  • 2015 Robert Young
  • 2015 CUC Executive
  • 2014 David Froese
  • 2013 Carol Shaw
  • 2013 Dan Gill
  • 2012 Amanda Mills
  • 2012 Shandra Ford
  • 2010 Robert Campbell
  • 2009 Jess Benoit
  • 2009 Kelvin Dyck
  • 2008 Crys Zimmer
  • 2008 Steve Heyns
  • 2006 Grace Lee
  • 2005 Angela Perez

Junior Scholarships

There are three junior scholarships handed out each year. The Dr Colin Yeung Scholarship, the Dean Wright Scholarship, and the Jean Luc Forrest Spirit of the Game Scholarship. All three of these awards are handed out to elite ultimate players moving from high school to university or college. All of the awards take into account the athletes committment to the sport, Spirit of the Game, community, volunteering, and scholastic achievements.

Go to the Scholarships page for more information. 

Dr Colin Yeung Scholarship Winners

  • 2019 - Quinn Wilson
  • 2018 - Maya Sykes
  • 2017 - Nick Einarson
  • 2016 - Olivia Zhou
  • 2015 - Hillary Rempel
  • 2014 - Caleb Snider
  • 2013 - Gil Binnun
  • 2012 - Hugh Wichenko
  • 2011 - Jesse Greenberg
  • 2010 - Bailey Jablonski-Armstrong
  • 2009 - Emily Ashley
  • 2008 - Tiffany Proctor

Dean Wright Scholarship Winners

  • 2019 - Caitlin Cho
  • 2018 - Jeff Boris
  • 2017 - Keenan Ashley
  • 2016 - Xander Jung
  • 2015 - Eric Chen
  • 2014 - Parisa Sephari
  • 2013 - Kirsten Hooper
  • 2012 - Liam McLeod
  • 2011 - Katie Scarth
  • 2010 - Kevin Boreskie
  • 2009 - Patrick Kennedy
  • 2008 - Taylor Rusnak 

The Jean-Luc Forest "Spirit of the Game" Winner

  • 2019 - Joe McCallum
  • 2018 - Yasmin Bannares
  • 2017 - Samantha Burrage
  • 2016 - Ava Glesby (first year of award)